sloth v2.5
01Apr2004 | 00:40Back | Forth
Mood: depressed, but i'll be okay later, i'm sure
Sounds: the buzz inside my skull

oh, you can't help that, we're all mad here

we may be done with the past, but the past is never done with us.

there are aspects of my past that i loathe, some i'm ambivalent about, and other aspects that i love.

there are parts of my past that i wish i could forget, some i might want to do differently, and some that i wish i could relive all the time.

there are people of my past that i wish i could go back to, and some i wish never were there to begin with.

there are moments of pride and moments of embarrassment, things i did right and major mistakes.

there is a lot of stuff back there, all of which helps make me the person i am today, for good or ill. i just can't help thinking about certain items in that midden heap of memory, wondering how exactly i've been affected by said item or event. often i see the negative impacts, how i've been irrevocably fucked up by someone's slight gesture, words of admonishment, or some other sort of behavior. more often, i see how i've fucked myself over with certain actions and (more frequently) inaction. i just don't know what to do, or how to succeed, or even how to be at peace with all this crazy bullshit buzzing around my brain.

sometimes i see how crazy people have to be to deal with me on any level. sometimes, i can completely understand why i have so few people around me on a regular basis. of course, i guess some of that is my own fault, since i tend to just chill alone for days and weeks on end without ever calling anyone. it's only fair that friends never call me because i never call them. i of course don't mean any offense to them, it's just... i guess i often don't feel good enough about myself to even make the effort, or that anyone else would feel good enough about me to make the effort. that's okay, i don't blame anyone else for it.

sometimes it's hard to look in the mirror.